Guest Post & Release Blitz – Kiss me Cowboy (Cowboys of Crested Butte Book 3) by Heather Slade


Blythe Cochran is a woman who’s never been treated the cowboy way—and Jace Rice knows he is just the man to teach her what that means. Unless his twin brother, Tucker, gets in the way. The last place Blythe wants to spend Thanksgiving is at the Flying R Ranch in Crested Butte, Colorado, but that’s where she’s headed. She and her best friend’s family have always celebrated the holiday together, so it was go along, or spend the holiday home alone. Feeling sorry for herself because she’s dateless and her best friend is newly engaged, Blythe asks Renie to fix her up with a hot cowboy. When she arrives and meets not one, but TWO of the hottest cowboys she’s ever seen, Blythe decides the holiday might not be so bleak after all. When both men compete for her attention, it’s hard for her to choose. Who would win her affection—easy-going, bronc-riding, cowboy Jace, or brooding artist Tucker? Regardless of whom she chooses, there is a secret being held between the brothers which could drive a permanent wedge between the two men, who each touch a different part of her soul. When the hidden truth is finally exposed, will it tear a family apart, or heal past wounds? This is book can be read as a standalone with no cliffhanger.

Amazon Kindle

Why I Love Writing Cowboys

The description of Kiss Me Cowboy begins with: Blythe Cochran is a woman who’s never been treated the cowboy way—and Jace Rice knows he is just the man to teach her what that means.

So what is the cowboy code? Or better put, which cowboy code does Jace know he’s the man to teach? In this case, it’s this one: Find her, protect her, spoil her, dance with her, and never stop loving her, or someone else will.

In the midst of research for Kiss Me Cowboy, I found quite a number of “cowboy codes.” For example, this one is known as The Code of the West: (1) Live each day with honesty and courage. (2) Take pride in your work. Always do your best. (3) Stay curious. Study hard and learn all you can. (4) Do what has to be done and finish what you start. (5) Be tough, but fair. (6) When you make a promise, keep it. (7) Be clean in thought, word, deed, and dress. (8) Practice tolerance and understanding of others. (9) Be willing to stand up for what’s right. (10). Be an excellent steward of the land and its animals.

Gene Autry also came up with his “Cowboy Code.” (1) The Cowboy must never shoot first, hit a smaller man, or take unfair advantage. (2) He must never go back on his word, or a trust confided in him. (3) He must always tell the truth. (4) He must be gentle with children, the elderly, and animals. (5) He must not advocate or possess racially or religiously intolerant ideas. (6) He must help people in distress. (7) He must be a good worker. (8) He must keep himself clean in thought, speech, action, and personal habits. (9) He must respect women, parents, and his nation’s laws. (10) The Cowboy is a patriot.

I guess all three of these examples are why I love writing cowboys. Not only do they make for the very best HEA heroes, but they also represent the type of person we all wish there were more of.

About the Author:

Heather Slade

My books are filled with things that bring me joy: music, wine, skiing, families, artists, and cowboys. Not always in that order. I’m an Amazon best-selling author, and a PAN member of Romance Writers of America. I speak, teach, blog, am an executive sommelier, and all-around entrepreneur. I grew up an east coast girl, and then spent half my life on the west coast. Now my husband, our two boys, and I happily call Colorado home.

Website Mailing List Goodreads Amazon Facebook Twitter

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.