Review – Biting Oz (Biting Love #5) by Mary Hughes

Real vampires do musicals.

Gunter Marie “Junior” Stieg is stuck selling sausage for her folks in small-town Meiers Corners. Until one day she’s offered a way out—the chance to play pit orchestra for a musical headed for Broadway: Oz, Wonderful Oz.

But someone is threatening the show’s young star. To save the production, Junior must join forces with the star’s dark, secretive bodyguard, whose sapphire eyes and lyrical Welsh accent thrill her. And whose hard, muscular body sets fire to her passions.

Fierce as a warrior, enigmatic as a druid, Glynn Rhys-Jenkins has searched eight hundred years for a home. Junior’s get-out-of-Dodge attitude burns him, but everything else about her inflames him, from her petite body and sharp mind to what she can do with her hip-length braid.

Then a sensuous, insidious evil threatens not only the show, but the very foundations of Meiers Corners. To fight it, Junior and Glynn must face the truth about themselves—and the true meaning of love and home.

Warning: Cue the music, click your heels together, make a wish and get ready for one steamy vampire romance. Contains biting, multiple climaxes, embarrassing innuendos, ka-click/ka-ching violence, sausage wars and—shudder—pistachio fluff.

Well, this is my favorite of the Biting Series by Mary Hughes. Maybe because I grew up with the Wizard of Oz and absolutely love the original movie or maybe is was Junior and Glynn. I’m not really sure, but, this book was fabulous!

The “staples” of Meiers Corners are back with a few new faces and a lot more hysterics. We meet the next adversary from the Coterie to try to take over Meiers Corners – Camille, the “Cheese Dudes”, and Mishela. Elias (the “Ancient One”) is also back giving orders and the wonderful residents of Meiers Corners have all gone bat-shit crazy! Well, thanks to Camille, that is, and the new night club in town “Fangs To You” and “GObubbles”.

I laughed throughout this book. From Toto lifting his leg on everyone and everything, to the cheese-ball fight between the Cheese Dudes and the Stieg’s. Camille makes life interesting in the way she is trying to shut down the opening of “Oz, Wonderful Oz” and the CIC is up to it’s old tricks in trying to bankrupt the little town. All this to get control of the Blood Center. You would think they would give up by now. But, not our wonderful vampires. The Alliance is getting stronger and stronger with the addition of new vampires. The humans are all banding together in an attempt to stop the take-over and Dolly Barton has a surprise for us. And, the secret? Well I guess we will have to wait to find out what it really is since no one seems to want to tell us.

But, with all that said, Biting Oz covers a lot more than just the crazies in the Corners or the fight between the Alliance and the Coterie. Junior and Glynn are the shining stars in this book and their message to us is one that we all need to remember. Love and Family go hand-in-hand, having a house doesn’t necessarily mean that you have a home, and, of course, “there’s no place like home”. Yes, all cliches but that’s what this book is all about. Love, family and home. Trusting yourself to know that you can walk away to make someone elses dreams come true … loving someone enough to let them go to find their dreams. Then, finding a way to make it work with you in their life.

Mary Hughes writes in a style that is enjoyable and fun. She brings together a cast of characters that have you laughing and just waiting to see what is going to happen next. How she comes up with some of the people and the things that they say and do is amazing. What a wonderful imagination she has. Well, I hope it’s her imagination and not something from her real life. If it is, I would love to be her. The characters that she writes are totally off-the-wall. And the sex … can it really be THAT BIG? Can they really have that much stamina?

I hope you enjoy “Biting Oz”. I totally did and am really looking forward to see who is next in the long line of Meiers Corners characters to be bitten.

There is a bit of confusion about reading order because of publication dates. I got this reading order from Mary Hughes.
Bite My Fire (Biting Love Book 1)
(Biting Dracula–free short story)
Biting Nixie (Biting Love Book 2)
(A Biting Christmas Special–free short story)
The Bite of Silence (Novella, Biting Love Book 3)
Biting Me Softly (Biting Love Book 4)
(Oz Bites–free short story)
Biting Oz (Biting Love Book 5)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

4 thoughts on “Review – Biting Oz (Biting Love #5) by Mary Hughes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.